PDA

View Full Version : CARPE NOCTEM-Is this a fake?


christtjj
18th November 2004, 16:28
Hey crew...we just received this about some distro in the Czech rep. and since all of you are way closer to them than us...I thought I'd ask you if you've ever had any dealings with them. Here's the info:

Dear Sirs,

My name is David BACHORIK and I work as import manager in an
independent distribution company called CARPE NOCTEM which
distributes techno / house / breakbeat / drum?n?bass / psy-trance
electronica stuff in the Czech Republic.

We represent labels such as GREENSLEEVES RECORDS, POSSITIVE SOUND RECORDS, BLACK&FIRE RECIRDS, HEADQUARTER RECORDS, D1 RECORDINGS, OUT
OF ORION, SOCOND TO NONE RECORDS, A-WAVE RECORDS, BASSBIN RECORDS, KAGDILA RECORDS, ELEPHANTHOUSE RECORDS, CAIPIRANHA RECORDS and many
others.

We are very interested in doing business with your label on a
distribution basis for territory of the Czech Republic as well.
Could you please, if you find my offer interesting for you, provide
me with your catalogue, trading terms and export price-list.
If possible please send me samples of your present highlights and
best selling titles to judge the standard of your releases.

The bookings, if possible, could be also the point of discussion.
Can you send the details please.

If you require more information, you can always reach me at my e-mail
address:
David.Bachorik@hasil.cz

I look forward to hearing from you soon and to getting started.

Best regards,

David BACHORIK
CARPE NOCTEM

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
DAVID BACHORIK - CARPE NOCTEM
HAVIRSKA 811/8
702 00 MOR.OSTRAVA
CZECH REPUBLIC

Mirsha
18th November 2004, 16:34
Might be worth trying to get in contact with the labels listed and see what they say, it could very well be a genuine thing but then again it could just be someone on the scrounge for some freebie records.

thembuzz
19th November 2004, 00:46
can't see what they'd stand to gain by bullshitting you. but i have got a headache and i can't be bothered thinking properly. the fact that they seem to be targeting labels working in specific genres would suggest that it's for real. but then "techno / house / breakbeat / drum?n?bass / psy-trance
electronica" does kind of loosely cover everything...

i dunno. i'd say it seems kosher, but i'd say it cautiously

christtjj
19th November 2004, 00:53
it does seem weird that a distributor is soliciting labels in the first place. aren't there distributors that already deal with czech rep and everywhere else in europe?

thembuzz
19th November 2004, 01:09
i don't know. if they're a pretty small outfit they might want to sneak in there before foreign labels approach the bigger players when they decide to expand

nikrem
19th November 2004, 01:15
is that "positive sounds" as in brighton?

Hertz
19th November 2004, 14:54
See that there are two Dublin labels on there. Try to get in touch with someone at D1, www.d1recordings.com